Hancock County, Kentucky History

Hancock County, kentucky

Where country living, history, and modern industry come together!            

County History

On January 3rd in 1829, Kentucky Governor Thomas Metcalfe signed into law a statute forming Hancock County from parts of Breckinridge, Daviess and Ohio counties to become Kentucky's 85th county.

The County was named in honor of the Boston patriot John Hancock who headed the Continental Congress and became the most notable signer of the Declaration of Independence.